Happy Homemade Sew-along – Day 1!

happy_homemade_sewalong_button

I am so excited to be participating in the Happy Homemade sew-along!  Or, perhaps I should say, attempting to participate in the sew-along.  My husband is away for the month of June, and preschool is done, meaning E is with me all the time.  Still, I’m trying to set aside an hour a day to sew, and I have to say that the sew-along looks like it will be presented in very manageable chunks.  And so far, so good.  I cleared the dining room table this morning to make way for pattern tracing.  E blasted through the novelty of glitter glue and markers fairly quickly, so I pulled out the iPad – you know, desperate times and all;-)

sewalong_day_1_1

Cherie’s instructions for locating and tracing the pattern are excellent – a great help for a first-timer like me – although I still managed to gap out and didn’t leave enough room for the 1 1/4 inch seam allowance at the hem – oops!  (I also realized that I’m out of tracing paper, hence the use of parchment paper).

sewalong_day_1_2

I must have been having such a great time adding seam allowances, that I went a little bit over board… I realized that I had added seam allowance along the fold of one of the body pieces – oops again!

sewalong_day_1_3

However, now that all is done, I think I have 4 respectable looking pattern pieces, and am ready to pin and cut tomorrow.  I should add that I decided to use a 1/2″ seam allowance, since that is what I am used to sewing with, and it gives me a bit of extra wiggle room.

The book, Happy Homemade, is beautiful – a number of the patterns stand out as things that I’d really like to try.  I love the clean, simple designs.  The actual sewing instructions seem a bit vague, but having sewn enough other garments from patterns with excellent illustrations, I think I could figure out most of these ones now.  I’m looking forward to cutting into some fabric tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

