Happy Homemade sew-along

It has been a bit of a rough week around here.  Things started off well, but then E came down with a wicked cold, and everything kind of ground to a halt.  It doesn’t seem fair to come down with YET ANOTHER bug, considering school and gymnastics are now done, but I guess this one got thrown in at the tail end as a sort of bonus virus.  But I was so psyched to participate in the Happy Homemade sew-along that I was rather foolishly determined to get this project done.

Moments of sewing were mostly done in the evening between bouts of intense, croupy coughing – E was waking up every 15 minutes coughing, so I was literally snatching a few minutes here and there, since I knew it wouldn’t be worth it to try to sleep myself.  I also managed to do a bit of sewing while she lounged in my bed with an episode of Little Bear on the laptop.  Mostly, the last couple of days have been a cuddle-fest.  When E has a fever, she just wants to cuddle, and every few minutes she says “I love you so much mama”, which is the only upside of having a sick kiddo.

Anyhow, I did manage to finish the hoody, which is called the “pull-over parka” from the book Happy Homemade: Sew Chic Kids.  I sewed it out of red Robert Kaufman yarn-dyed linen, which has a lovely weight and drape.  The hood lining and drawstring are made from a discontinued camera print by Monaluna for Birch Organics – the colours in this print are wonderful, and I have been hoarding half a yard of it for the last year.  I love the combination of these two fabrics – perhaps they have just been hanging out together on my fabric shelf for so long now that they are meant to be together:-)

red_hoody_3

The sewing was mostly straightforward, but my addled, sleep-deprived mind totally choked on the neck facing.  I had to rip it out twice – gah!  Some time during the second round of seam ripping, I recall thinking that I would never make this top again.  Fortunately, I recovered, finished it successfully, tried it on E, marvelled at it’s adorableness, and told myself that I have to sew another one right away while I still remember how to do it!  So, the pain of applying the neck facing was totally worth it in the end, and I can only hope that it would go much more easily if I was well rested.

I had originally thought I’d add a kangaroo pocket in the camera print, but decided that would be too busy, so I added a little camera patch at the bottom instead:

red_hoody_4

Fortunately E is in a red phase right now, so she likes the hoody and seemed very comfortable wearing it.

red_hoody_1

red_hoody_2

It works well for jumping, running, handstands, and crazy dance moves.  In short, great kid clothing.

red_hoody_5

red_hoody_6

Thanks to Meg at Elsie Marley and Cherie at You and Mie for hosting the sew-along and providing such great step-by-step instructions.  This was exactly the kick in the pants I needed to try sewing from a Japanese pattern book!

4 thoughts on “Happy Homemade sew-along

  1. I really love the way your hoodie came out! That first photo of E standing on the chaise is beautiful! And I think you made the right choice with the little camera applique instead of a kangaroo pocket in that fabric. It’s perfect! Thanks for sewing along!

  2. This is lovely. That neck facing has seen a few of us pull our hair out! you did a great job, and I agree the little applique is the perfect touch. just discovered your blog through that insane penguin costume, happy to follow your sewing adventure.

  3. Pingback: Pullover Parka and Sunny Day Shorts | Snippet

Leave a Reply

