Teacher gifts – zippered pouches

poppy_zippered_pouch

This is a project that I’ve planned to try for a while – Noodlehead’s Open Wide Zippered Pouches.  I wanted to make something special for E’s very patient and caring preschool teachers, and I wanted to use my leftover poppy fabric from l’Oiseau.  E wore her poppy dress for picture day at school, and her teachers loved the fabric.  It seemed appropriate to use it for their gifts, which I hope will remind them fondly of E (ha, ha!  Kind of a joke, since it was a very rough and prolonged transition into preschool, and I know she wasn’t the most co-operative student.  But she is spirited, and funny, and creative, so hopefully that impression won out).

Anyhow, back to the fabric – there was more than enough left to make two of the medium-sized pouches.  They are lined with chartreuse shot cotton, and the zipper is finished with a black linen tab.  I used fusible interfacing, which I hope will hold up well.  I really have to do some more research about using fusible interfacing, and source a good quality one, since I have doubts about the longevity of the kind available at our sad little local fabric store.  Perhaps it doesn’t matter so much in a zippered pouch, which likely won’t get washed very often, but I would like to find something that I feel confident will hold up to prolonged use.

poppy_zippered_pouch_2

The tutorial was great, and resulted in two totally presentable-looking pouches (thank goodness, since there was no time to sew anything else as a backup plan!).  I have a feeling that making them is a bit addictive – I have two more cut out and ready to sew up already!

One thought on “Teacher gifts – zippered pouches

Leave a Reply

