My new sewing space

I can’t call it a sewing room exactly, since it’s actually half of the bedroom, but I am so happy to finally have a usable, dedicated sewing space!  All of this was largely inspired by the arrival of this new lovely:

sewing_room_1

After a long wait, my new serger has finally arrived!  In the end, I decided to go for a Pfaff Coverlock 3.0, and so far I love it!  I disregarded much of the advice that I received about the unwieldiness of having to re-thread combination machines and just went for it, because the reality is that it is highly unlikely that I’ll end up purchasing a standalone coverstitch machine.  If it proves to be too much of a pain and I end up just using this as an overlocker, that’s fine.  I got a great deal, and I plan to become very comfortable threading it – I am not afraid of you, serger!

It now lives on a new desk (twice the size of my old table) with my sewing machine.  Don’t they look nice together?  The serger has an awesome plexiglass extension table, which is a really nice addition!

sewing_room_2

My family chipped in for my birthday so that I would also be able to buy an adjustable-height cutting table.  I can’t even begin to express how wonderful it is to have a table to work at standing height, rather than hunching over fabric and pattern pieces on the floor.  E likes to sit at the table and colour while I work on my projects.

sewing_room_3

The whole thing is set up next to a massive window, so there is great light and I can see everything going on in the neighbourhood – I can be the nosy neighbour who knows everything about everyone!  Just kidding – the view is pretty nice though:)

sewing_room_4

So, that is my new sewing space!  I’m sure I will tweak it some more as I find out what works and what doesn’t, and I’m hoping to repaint and get rid of the blue walls, but it is already a massive improvement over what I had before.  And on that note, I’m off to do some sewing!

2 thoughts on “My new sewing space

    • Yes, there are mountains in every direction where I live – we live in a valley where three mountain ranges converge. I remember visiting family in Apeldoorn when I was a child, and marvelling at how flat it was – and how easy to ride a bike!

Leave a Reply

