A new sundress

mochi_sundress_1

After a bit of a sewing hiatus, I was inspired to sew up this little sundress on Friday night.  It is very simple, but everything about it feels right, and I know that it will be worn and loved.  E is a big fan of the skirt colour, the big pockets, and the fact that she can put it on herself with no buttons or zippers to fasten.

mochi_sundress_2

She loves wearing skirts and t-shirts, but moves and wiggles so much that skirts tend to rotate in short order.  Within a few minutes, one pocket is generally in the middle of the front, and the other is over her bum.  I try to refrain from constantly adjusting and re-adjusting her skirt, but it does kind of drive me crazy when the pockets are always so far out of alignment.  So, when I was browsing the Hanna Andersson website the other day and saw the Feeling Sunny dress, I decided to make my own.  It is so basic that I’m not sure I can really call it a knock-off – it is basically a tank top with a gathered skirt attached.  But it works really well.

Here’s the inspiration dress and my version:

mochi_sundress_collage

I traced one of E’s tank tops to get the measurement for the top and used her Hanami dress as a guideline for how long to make the bodice.  The skirt is just a simple gathered rectangle with two patch pockets sewn on.  Easy peasy.

mochi_sundress_3

I love how when you are 5 years old, rainboots are always an appropriate choice of footwear:)

mochi_sundress_4

The skirt fabric is Cotton and Steel Hot Cross Buns (if you haven’t noticed, I really liked the Mochi collection!).  The black and white stripe is an upcycled t-shirt that I scored from my mum last week.  Oh, how I wish I had a bottomless pile of striped shirts to hack up!

I have a couple more of these dresses in the works already, since I suspect they will be in heavy rotation this summer.

One thought on “A new sundress

Leave a Reply

