KCW Day 3 – A simple sundress

sundress_1

For KCW day 3, I decided to go for a basic sundress, which I know will get lots of wear.  I made one before, and E likes it because she can put it on by herself.  Totally un-fussy, it’s basically a tank top with a gathered skirt.

sundress_3

The bodice is made with Birch Mod Basics solid in mid-blue, which is so soft and seems like a really lovely quality.  I found a few little scraps of a Stenzo polka dot knit to use as binding.  The skirt fabric is yet another lovely Cotton & Steel fabric from the Mochi collection.

sundress_2

My model, arriving home tired, grumpy, and mosquito-bitten from a quick camping trip, has gone on strike.  And so, for photos I went with the tape-clothes-to-the-wall method, which E found pretty funny.  It also made me realize how desperately some of our walls need to be painted (perhaps another summer project).

I had hoped that her camping trip would last a little bit longer than it did, since I have a decidedly un-practical sewing project that I would like to get started on, involving linen, block-printing, and embroidery…

5 thoughts on “KCW Day 3 – A simple sundress

  1. Yep, that would be a favourite at our house too. Love the colours. I have a little remnant of Stenzo red polka dot knit too. Now I know exactly what to do with it! I feel a copy coming on when the weather is hot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

