KCW – Day 6

redridinghood_1

I managed to snag a couple of hours of sewing time this morning while E and papa went out for breakfast.  She had been poking through my stash and asked me to make something with this crazy Little Red Riding Hood fabric.  A whole shirt made with the fabric would have been a bit too much busy-loud-pattern for me, so I tried to break it up a bit with some stripes and solids.  The body and sleeves are both Lillestoff knits, and the solid cuffs and neckband are a Birch knit in mahogany.  The shirt pattern is the Recess Raglan, which I’ve used lots of times before.

redridinghood_2

The shirt came together so quickly that I had time to make some leggings out of the Birch knit too.  They are made with the Go To Leggings pattern in a size 5 with lots of extra length.  I’ve read that this fabric has a tendency to shrink quite a bit.  I’ve prewashed-and-dried it twice, but still don’t quite trust that it has done all the shrinking it’s going to do.  Still, it’s beautiful, thick fabric – much nicer than the usual thin stuff that store-bought leggings are made with.

I still have a couple of projects I’d like to finish up tomorrow before Kids’ Clothes Week is done!

4 thoughts on “KCW – Day 6

Leave a Reply

