Sewing for Sylvia

 

SewingforSylvia_2

For E’s Christmas present this year, I decided to sew some doll accessories.  Her favourite doll is named Sylvia, and she is about the size of a real baby: newborn-sized clothes fit her perfectly.  Sylvia was actually mine when I was little, purchased while my family was in Spain one year, so she has little pearl earrings like a good Spanish baby:)  I still remember holding her on my lap for the entire plane ride back to Canada.  For some reason, E took a liking to her the moment she found her in the storage room at grandma’s house several months ago, and her other two dolls are now sadly neglected.

So, before E is beyond playing with dolls entirely, I decided to sew up some baby care accessories: a diaper bag, cloth diapers, and a baby carrier.  Sylvia also received a new Christmas dress to match E’s.

SewingforSylvia

The diaper bag is self-drafted – the dimensions were dictated by the amount of fabric I had, and I basically followed the procedure for making a lined pouch (like Noodlehead’s Open Wide zippered pouch, but without the zipper), squaring the bottom corners, and adding a flap and pocket.  It has a layer of quilt batting to give it a bit more body, a canvas strap, and a button and hair-elastic loop closure.  It is very simple, but holds all of Sylvia’s essential gear.

Diaper_bag_1

The fabric is from Dear Stella’s Dress Me Playground collection, purchased here, with the clothing print for the exterior, and the sweet peach-coloured bunny fabric for the lining.

Diaper_bag_2

For the diapers, I used Riley Blake’s Dolly Diaper pattern, scaled up to fit Sylvia’s rather large rump.  They are lined with white fleece.

Diapers

The final baby accessory is a doll carrier, made using the Bear Carrier pattern from Oliver & S Little Things to Sew.  It is a rather pared-down version: I dispensed with the pocket and topstitching because I was running short on time, and my curves look rather puckered, but it works just fine.  It is just big enough for Sylvia, thank goodness.  E hasn’t figured out how to put it on by herself yet (she generally gets tangled in the straps and then bleats for help), but hopefully she’ll get the hang of it.  I remember feeling equally confused about how to put E in a wrap carrier when she was a newborn.

Doll_carrier

Doll_carrier_1

And that’s it for Christmas sewing!  I usually have grand plans for knitting and sewing that end up causing me stress, so it was nice to go easy on myself this year.  I hope everyone has enjoyed a wonderful holiday!

5 thoughts on “Sewing for Sylvia

Leave a Reply

