…and while I’m at it, a Sailboat Skirt

Sailboat_skirt_1

Well, I had the pattern out, so I figured I may as well try the Sailboat Skirt too!  It was fun to try out another new-to-me pattern, and I managed to make this entirely out of fabric from my scrap bin.  By cutting the back in two pieces, adding the kick pleat as a separate piece (as opposed to cutting the whole thing on a fold), and using contrasting facing pieces, I managed to eke this out of a tiny amount of fabric.  It was very satisfying.

Sailboat_skirt_2

The topstitching and buttons are pink of course:)  E asked to try on her new outfit, but did not want to leave my bed.  So, here are some photos taken on my very-wrinkly bed that has contained a sick kiddo for the last three days.  She’s starting to perk up a bit, which is nice to see.  The skirt is a size 6, which turned out a bit too big.  I should have stuck to a 5 width/6 length combination.  It’s a bit of a departure from the skirts she usually wears (almost all of which are Swingset skirts) but she seems to be pretty comfy wearing it.

Sailboat_skirt_3

She’s also wearing her new hat, knit using some leftover Quince and Co. Finch yarn.  I figured the fingering-weight yarn would make a nice spring hat.  We made pompoms for the first time recently, so I decided to put one on the hat.  E wasn’t sure at first, but after I said it was like having a little pet mouse on her head, she was sold on the idea.

Sailboat_skirt_4

Sailboat_skirt_5

This one cracks me up.  She delivered this message to me after I pried the ipad out of her hands and encouraged her to read or colour:

Im_not_hapey

 

 

6 thoughts on “…and while I’m at it, a Sailboat Skirt

    • It is a really cute pattern – E has never worn a narrower skirt before, but she likes it. Only problem is that it rotates quite badly and the buttons never stay at the front. Still, I loved how little fabric it took – way less that the recommended yardage.

Leave a Reply

