Poppy Romper

poppy_romper_3

I managed to fit in one more quick project at the tail end of Kid’s Clothes Week – a romper made with Purl Soho’s free Summer Romper for Kids pattern.  I noticed this pattern last summer when it was released, but completely forgot about it until recently when I saw this lovely version (made with Nani Iro double gauze – oh, that must feel wonderful!).  Since I had no Nani Iro on hand, the little girl and I went through my stash and she picked out this Stenzo poppy fabric (it’s pink! it’s bright!), of which there was just enough for a romper.

The pattern is very basic and easy to follow, and even though it has no shaping, the fit is very cute.  I went with a size 6-7 (E usually wears a 5 with 6 length these days) and the fit is just fine.  The only change I made was to take about 1.5 inches off the length of the waist elastic to cinch it in a little bit more, and a wee bit off the chest elastic (maybe 1/2-3/4″).  With the adjustable shoulder ties there is definitely a couple of inches of grow-room in this one.

poppy_romper_2

And that’s a wrap for Spring KCW!  I feel like I was very productive in the sewing department this week (not so much in the cleaning, cooking, and working departments, ahem!), and struck a balance between practical and pretty, while respecting E’s wishes for increased pink-ification of her mama-made duds.  My favourite project of the week was definitely the Haiku Hanami dress – oh my, it was so satisfying working with that lovely fabric!  And the kidlet?  I think she’s most excited about the poppy romper:)

 

One thought on “Poppy Romper

  1. wow – what a super productive week! I always love your sewing creations; you have such a great aesthetic. Love the short sleeve playtime tunic, esp. since it’s in knit and will therefore be worn! Also, that Hanami dress is gorgeous! I hope your daughter will adore wearing it:)

Leave a Reply

