A Summer Sailboat Tunic

schools_out_collage

School’s out for the summer and someone is excited!  E is highly sensitive when it comes to transitions, so her initial response to the end of the school year was to cry like her little heart was breaking (she cried the same way when we had to replace our old fridge).  She eventually calmed down when I reassured her that we will see her friends regularly during the summer, and we talked about all the fun things that we would like to do over the next couple of months.  After spending this afternoon at the beach, she was pretty much sold on the idea of summer vacation.  She was in such a happy mood that she even agreed to pose for some pictures in exchange for 31 cents:)

sailboat_top_2

The top that she is wearing is another O&S Sailboat top – can I just take a moment to say how much I love this pattern?  Sewing those facings is just so satisfying, and I love the buttons, which are both cute and functional.  I made some alterations to the pattern this time by adding length so that it’s more like a tunic, giving the body a slight a-line shape (and adjusting the hem facings accordingly), and of course shortening the sleeves.  I was planning to add a drawstring at the waist, but E was vehemently opposed to the idea – she much preferred the idea of leaving it loose and swingy.  I still think the drawstring would be cute though – perhaps she’ll grow into that idea at some point.

sailboat_top_3

The fabric is a cotton/spandex knit, Great Big Stripes in rose from l’Oiseau Fabric.  The shop has wide stripes in a range of colours, and after sewing with this one I am definitely tempted to buy some more!  I see some striped t-shirts in my future…

sailboat_top_4

The top needed some leggings to go with it, and by happy coincidence this floral fabric, also from l’Oiseau but now sold out, worked well with the rose stripes.  The pattern is Go To Leggings, shortened to capri length.

bucket_hat_1

I sat down at my sewing table this morning and decided to use my last child-free morning for the next two months to sew an O&S Bucket Hat, a project I had never tried before.  The pattern is in the book Oliver & S Little Things to Sew, and is also available as a free pattern on the O&S website.  The hat came together beautifully and was a very satisfying project that I’m sure will see a lot of use.  I used natural-coloured Essex linen for one side and the clover pattern from Heather Ross’ Briar Rose collection for the other.

bucket_hat_2

I have a couple more summer sewing projects in mind, but have mostly been planning easy and portable knitting projects to take along on camping trips.  I think I’m as excited as E about school ending, and can’t wait to spend as much time outside as possible!

sailboat_top_5

Leave a Reply

