Barefoot Romper

I am so excited to share my version of Twig + Tale’s beautiful new pattern, the Barefoot Romper, which I recently had the pleasure of testing.  I love the aesthetic of Twig + Tale’s patterns, and given my wonderful experience sewing the bunny coat (E’s favourite piece of mama-made clothing ever), I was very pleased to try this pattern out.

romper_back_1

The Barefoot Romper has so many great design options in terms of straps, yoke variations, pockets, and leg lengths.  It has been tested in a variety of fabrics from light cotton lawn to warm woolies (as well as wovens and knits) making it suitable for all seasons.  The spaghetti strap option with the loop anchor caught my eye first – I love the delicate, airy look.  Perhaps not quite right for winter in Canada, but it looks cute with a white t-shirt underneath, and gives us hope that spring will come soon.

romper_side_1

I was hesitant to sew the romper in a quilting cotton, but E chose this floral Cloud 9 fabric from the Morning Song collection.  Fortunately, I find that the organic quilting cottons are quite soft and have decent drape, so I think it works.  I’d love to try a knit version – I’m envisioning a calf-length cotton jersey version with halter ties for the summer.  Generally, it seems that almost any fabric works for the small sizes (check out the tester photos on Twig + Tale – those little babies and toddlers look so adorable!), but fabrics with more drape work better for bigger kids so that it’s not quite so voluminous.

pleated_pocket_detail

Another thing that I like about this pattern is that it provides lots of room for customization.  Personally, I find it difficult to leave pockets alone, so I decided to add some free-hand pleating detail to the linen side pockets.  In this case, the pockets are backed because the linen is thin and I didn’t want the floral pattern showing through, and it gives a nice clean finish.  I used the linen for the spaghetti straps too, for a bit of contrast.

romperfront_1

As far as the technical details are concerned, the pattern is layered, making it easy to print up your desired size(s), and the pieces line up perfectly so it is easy to tape together.  The tutorial is clear, beautifully laid out, and easy to follow.  The garment sews up easily, with lovely finishing details.  A series of tutorials for “hacks” (like adding piping, making the romper reversible, changing up the strap fasteners) will be featured on the Twig + Tale blog over the next little while, which will be a great resource for customizing the romper.  Although I was a tester for the Barefoot Romper, the review and opinions are my own, and I can whole-heartedly recommend this pattern!

If you’re ready to start sewing some rompers, join the Twig + Tale Chat facebook group to get a 25% discount code until midnight Monday, February 20th PST.

floral_crown

 

 

Leave a Reply

