A Laure dress

Laure_dress_5

There has been a lot of sewing going on around here lately, but not much blogging.  This is in part due to the fact that E says that she is tired of having her photo taken.  But when I told her about a field I had seen that was absolutely full of buttercups, she agreed to have me take photos while she picked flowers.  Lucky for me, she agreed to wear a dress that I was hoping to photograph too:)

Buttercup_4

E recently asked me if I would sew her a “Chinese dress” (she specifically requested a “grown-up” one with a straight skirt), which immediately brought Straight Grain’s Laure dress to mind.  This one is made with the Qipao collar, a-line skirt, and cap sleeve options.  E would love it if I could add frog buttons, but I haven’t been able to find any red ones locally, and to be honest I quite like the look of it as-is with just the red piping.

Laure_dress_3

I thoroughly enjoyed sewing this dress – between the shape of the collar, the piping, the lining, and the invisible zipper, it was a bit more of a challenge than many of the projects I’ve made recently, but it was satisfying to complete a project that required some thought.  The dress is beautifully-finished inside, and though I don’t have pictures of the back, I’m very happy with the zipper closure.  A funny anecdote – I told E I had to go to the fabric store to pick up an invisible zipper.  When I came home from the store, she was very disappointed to discover that the zipper wasn’t invisible at all!

laure_dress_2

We enjoyed our evening walk to the buttercup field and came home with very yellow feet!

Laure_dress_4

4 thoughts on “A Laure dress

  1. I actually visited your site to take a look at the Twig + Tale boots but instead came across this beautiful Laure dress!! Wow, it’s gorgeous and your photos are beautiful, too!

Leave a comment